Skip to content

New in town

January 11, 2012

Hey, I’m Patrick and I’m new here.  Both here here (like.. right here), and in Buffalo.  The Nickel City is one full of people who seem to have been born and raised here.  I don’t mean that in a bad way, just in a way.  In a not-so-veiled effort to cover my bases (or ass, you pick), I call myself a Pittsburgh native, which is mostly true, and I love and identify with that city. It is also a city that is full of people who seem to be from there.

As new guy in town, who is likely here to stay for a while, that poses a challenge.  While I work from home, I have a challenging career that can, for stretches of time, keep me hunkered down in front of a computer for up to 70 hours a week.  Lately that’s been the norm.  If I’m going to be here, and if I’m going to like it, I need to enjoy my time.  I need to get to know the city and the people.  That’s going to require that I get past negative stereotypes of a city that has honestly been very good to me in my 9 months here so far.  There are great things here – from the cost of living to the architecture to the history and standouts like the Blue Monk and Lloyd Taco Truck.  Maybe most importantly, I need to do something that I enjoy and possibly even find some like-minded friends to enjoy with.

One of the things that I enjoy most, is brewing beer.  I’ve been at it for about five years and have learned more than I ever thought I would.  ..And I feel like I’m just scratching the surface.  This tumblr thing (is this a blog?) will mostly serve as a record of my brewing shenanigans, triumphs & failures, successes & frustrations.  I will sprinkle in some of my thoughts on urban renewal, urban living, goings on and other events, as they occur.

Beyond brewing, I enjoy and seek out many kinds of music, have a dog named Oliver, a Mac obsession, an affinity for using parenthesis (did you notice?  oh.. shit.) and like Hockey.  I also have a converted Sanyo 4912 dual tap homebrew kegerator that regularly spouts out free beers.  So.. if you found me here, drop me a line, especially if you’re local.  It would be great to make some acquaintances and possibly share or brew some beers.

Slainte

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

