Skip to content

with a twist…

February 25, 2012

If you go back a few posts, you can read about my “parti-gyle” double brewday, the outcome of which was both a Belgian Dark Strong Ale and a lighter, Belgian Pale Ale.

Above is a draft pull of the Belgian Pale Ale, which has been on tap here for about two weeks.  Admittedly an afterthought and the kid brother of my Dark Strong Ale, this has turned out to be a real pleasure.  It’s fairly dry, crisp and biscuity, but has a deep yet subtle bitterness which I attribute both to the cluster hops used, and higher tannic extract from being the second runnings.  At around 4%, this is a really refreshing, satisfying beer.  I’m also loving the color and character.

After a long week, I’m sitting around watching some hockey tonight, and decided to try something a little different with this one.  

I doused a sugar cube with a few dashes of angostura bitters, then pulled the draft on top.  The carbonation dissolved the sugar cube and the resulting beer was slightly sweeter with a nice hint of the angostura flavor.  Pretty successful experiment.

In related news, I added an ounce of pasteurized french oak chips to my Dark Strong Ale, and pitched some Brett B.  The fermentation bottomed out at 1.035, so I decided to toss the Brett in and dry it out a bit.  I’m really excited to try this one in a few months.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

