Skip to content

English Bitter

March 25, 2012

A few weeks ago, I decided to try my hand at an English Bitter – a style I enjoy, but have never brewed.  Right around that time, one of my tumblr friends posted a recipe.  I decided – why re-invent the wheel (this time)?  Right around that time, the weather really turned to spring (actually more like Summer this past week).  So.. without much further ado, here is a little recap of my brewday.

English Bitter
Brewed 3/13/2012

Size: 5.0 gal
Efficiency: 82.0%
Attenuation: 75.0%
Original Gravity: 1.046 (1.040 – 1.048)
Terminal Gravity: 1.011 (1.008 – 1.012)

Color: 13.71 (5.0 – 16.0)
Alcohol: 4.49% (3.8% – 4.6%)
Bitterness: 25.5 (25.0 – 40.0)

Ingredients:

  • 6 lb Maris Otter
  • 1.0 lb Maris Otter – home toasted
  • 0.5 lb Crystal 77
  • 0.25 lb Crystal 120
  • 0.6 oz Phoenix (8.1%) – first wort hop
  • 0.75 oz East Kent Goldings (5.0%) – added during boil, boiled 15 m
  • 0.75 oz East Kent Goldings (5.0%) – added during boil, boiled 1.0 m
  • 0.5 oz East Kent Goldings (5.0%) – added dry to secondary fermenter
  • 0.0 ea Danstar  Nottingham

Schedule:

  • Mash-In – Liquor: 2.75 gal; Strike: 164.79 °F; Target: 153.5 °F
  • Batch sparge – Untitled Sparge: 3.6 gal sparge @ 168.0 °F, 0.0 m;
  • Total Wort Collected: 5.39 gal
Listening:
  • St. Vincent – “Strange Mercy”

1 lb of the Maris Otter – toasted in the oven.  30 minutes at 275 did the trick.  Made sure to let them cool for several hours before milling and mashing.

First runnings and first wort hops

One of the rare instances that I’ve used dry yeast.  Rehydrating in 82 deg water.

The brew went off without a hitch.  I hit my now-expected efficiency of 80-82%, which I’m very happy with.  No plans to tweak my process at this point.  I think I’ve got my mill pretty dialed in to an optimal grind, and I seem to have the hang of calibrating and averaging temperature measurements from my two thermometers.  They’re nothing special, but the accuracy is vital.

Writing this post nearly two weeks after brewing, this session beer is getting ready for consumption.  Encouraging my friends to help empty one of my kegs so that I can refill.

3/24 – added 1/2 oz of EKG whole leaf hops for dry hopping.

From → brewday

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

