Skip to content

Floydian Slip (American Wheat)

May 12, 2012

American Wheat isn’t the most… exciting of styles.  I honestly don’t think about it much, and I don’t really know of that many commercial/craft examples.  Most of what’s out there is kind of… boring.  With that in mind, I’m kind of surprised that I brewed one.

I stumbled across a bunch of reviews of Three Floyd’s Gumballhead, which I have never had.  The descriptions sound awesome – wheat sweetness, pungent floral hops, crisp, refreshing, highly drinkable.  I decided to make a beer that fits that description, while purposely staying away from “clone” recipes.

What I came up with is what I’m calling Floydian Slip (see what I did there?).  A hoppy American Wheat that should be perfect for the impending transition from Spring to Summer.

Trying something new this time around, in that I’m giving one of the new Hop Blends a try (Falconer’s Flight).  In hindsight, I partly wish I had gone for something like Galaxy, Amarillo or Riwaka, but I’ve already done a Citra/Amarillo (twice) this year and I’m interested in trying as many combinations as possible.  I just racked this to secondary the day before writing, so I haven’t had a taste yet, but the aroma is enticing.

Recipe after the jump

One of the more aggressive starters I’ve had.  Krausen was forming after about 3 hours.

Floydian Slip American Blonde Wheat
Brewed: 5/1/12

Size: 6.0 gal
Efficiency: 79.0%
Attenuation: 79.0%
Original Gravity: 1.047 (measured)
Terminal Gravity: 1.011 (measured)

Color: 5.28 (3.0 – 6.0)
Alcohol: 4.83% (4.0% – 5.5%)
IBU: 45.7 (theoretical)

Ingredients:

  • 4.5 lb Canadian 2-Row Malt
  • 2.0 lb Red Wheat
  • 3.0 lb White Wheat
  • 0.25 lb Caramel Malt 40L
  • 0.33 oz Columbus (15.0%) – added during boil, boiled 60.0 m
  • 1 oz Citra™ (12.0%) – added during boil, boiled 15 m
  • 0.5 oz Falconer’s Flight (11.4%) – added during boil, boiled 10 m
  • 0.5 oz Citra™ (12.0%) – added during boil, boiled 5 m
  • 0.5 oz Falconer’s Flight (11.4%) – added during boil, boiled 2 m
  • 0.5 oz Citra™ (12.0%) – added dry to secondary fermenter
  • 2.0 oz Falconer’s Flight (11.4%) – added dry to secondary fermenter

Schedule:

  • Mash-In – Liquor: 3.05 gal; Strike: 164.36 °F; Target: 151 °F
  • Batch Sparge – 4.51 gal sparge @ 168.0 °F,
  • Total Wort Collected: 6.56 gal
Notes:
  • 5/11/12 – gravity down to 1.011.  Racked to sanitized better bottle with dry hops.  Kicked my ESB keg last night, so I’ll transfer this into the empty keg after another 10 days or so.  Aroma is fantastic – definitely a wheat sweetness, and a big floral, citrusy aroma coming off the dry hops.  Should build over the next week or so as the hop oils seep out into the beer.
  • Saved the yeast trub in a sanitized growler.  Wanting to brew another Pale Ale and a Flanders Red.  I’m thinking I’ll re-use the yeast for both of those brews before “retiring” (read: dumping) it.  After that, it’s going to be hot out, so probably time to brew a Saison that I’ve been dreaming up.

From → brewday

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

