Skip to content

upgrade!

November 2, 2012

A little backed up on posts.  I’ve actually done three brews in recent weeks that haven’t made it up here yet.  Two for decent reasons, the third not.

Anyways, I also wanted to share some upgrades that I made to my kegerator.  The chrome plated brass faucets that came with the tower I bought had started to corrode.  They were starting to get unsightly, harder to clean and most importantly, I was beginning to get a metallic flavor in some beers.

I shopped around quite a bit and considered several styles.  Perlick’s seem to be the gold standard, but the design didn’t really strike me.  My kegerator happens to sit in a high-traffic area of my apartment, so I wanted something that was nice to look at, but also highly functional.

I settled on a pair of RotoTaps, which are a Belgian-style, rotary valve faucet.  They’re manufactured by Manitowoc, and can be difficult to find in the states.  I got a decent price on them through micromatic.com.

These are stainless steel, so they won’t rust or corrode.  They also have minimal moving parts and are easy to clean.  They’re quite heavy for their size and have a really nice pouring action.

All in all, I’m really happy with the purchase, and I trust these will serve me well for a very long time.  The only real downside is that the plastic post that they are mounted on is a little flimsy, but I have a solution to that in mind, which I’ll put into action in the next week or two.

So long story short, if you have a kegerator and are looking to upgrade, I recommend these bad boys.

From → gear

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

