Skip to content

Dunn Homestead Double IPA

January 29, 2013

image

If you’ve been reading this for more than a month or two (or have gone back through the history), you might have seen my pretty lengthy post on Vermont.

A quick recap: Katie and I (and the dog) took a long weekend mini-vacation to northern Vermont in September.  We went to Hill Farmstead Brewery and the Alchemist, we were also able to sample a few beers from Lawson’s Finest Liquids.  Prohibition Pig in Waterbury remains one of the best beer-centric establishments I’ve set foot in (although Buffalo’s Blue Monk is way the hell up there).

Since returning from that trip, I’ve been pondering the outstanding beers there, specifically the Double IPA’s.  I was fortunate to sample (Lawson’s) Double Sunshine, (Alchemist) Heady Topper, (Hill Farmstead) Society & Solitude #5, Abner and Ephraim.  All of these were absolutely amazing beers.  I knew I wanted to try to recreate some of that magic, but I needed time for the ideas to come into focus.

After several months of recipe tweaking, I was finally ready to make a go of it.  While I’m not “cloning” any of these beers, I am trying to create my own take on a VT DIPA.

image

Specific to Heady Topper, it’s well discussed that their proprietary yeast, Conan, is key.  It is a mutated english strain that is highly attenuative, lets grain flavor shine through and has a fruity punch in the middle.  I collected some of this yeast from a can and have been slowly propagating it into a pitchable rate.

image

Beyond the yeast, I went with a high quality 2-row base malt (Munton’s), augmented with a bit of honey malt for color and sweetness.  Finally, I’m using a very liberal dose of my favorite hops.  Clean Warrior for bittering.  Chinook and Simcoe for pine, Centennial and Columbus for citrus and “earth”, Amarillo for exotic fruit.

image

Because of Conan’s attenuative nature (reports as high as 83% AA), I opted to mash fairly high at 155.  This should still provide a fairly dry finished product (de-gassed Heady comes in around 1.010).  Columbus first wort hops and a healthy dose of 60-min Warrior’s will provide a sharp, but smoothed out bitter bite.  Massive late and dry additions of hops will make for abundant hop flavor and aroma, in a mix of the flavors mentioned above.  In the end, this beer will have ‘consumed’ 13.5 oz of hops (in 5.75 gallons), which is certainly a record for me.

image

This should be a fairly bitter beer with striking hop flavor and aroma, backed up by a biscuity, slightly sweet malt.  I am extremely excited to dig into this over the next few weeks and share with friends who I know will enjoy it.  Something tells me this one will go quickly.

Oh, and the name.  My last name is Dunn.  I don’t have a farm (..or a stead), but I thought Dunn Homestead was a clever name.  Apartmentstead didn’t roll off the tongue very well.  Most people won’t get it anyways.

Here’s the recipe.

Dunn Homestead DIPA
14-C Imperial/Double IPA
Brewed 1/27/13

Size: 5.75 gal
Efficiency: 79.68% (measured)
Attenuation: 82.0% (estimated)
Original Gravity: 1.077 (measured)
Terminal Gravity: 1.014 (estimated)

Color: 9.78 SRM
Alcohol: 8.33%
IBU: 127.4 (theoretical)

Water (all in ppm):

Ca: 59  Mg: 14  Na: 14  SO₄: 71  Cl: 46  HCO₃: 39

Ingredients:

  • 15 lb 2-row Pale Malt
  • 1 lb Honey Malt
  • 0.5 oz Columbus (16.7%) – First Wort Hop
  • 0.75 oz Warrior (16%) – Boiled 60 minutes
  • 0.5 oz Columbus, 0.5 oz Chinook, 0.75 oz Amarillo (1.75 oz total) – boiled 5 minutes
  • 1.0 oz Simcoe, 0.5 oz Centennial (1.5 oz total) – boiled 3 minutes
  • 0.5 oz Columbus, 1 oz Chinook, 0.5 oz Centennial, 0.75 oz Simcoe, 0.75 oz Amarillo (3.5 oz total) – “Whirlpool” hops
  • Conan yeast – 2 L starter originally from a fresh can of Heady Topper
  •  0.75 oz Columbus, 1 oz Centennial, 1.25 oz Simcoe, 1.25 oz Chinook, 1.25 oz Amarillo (5.5 oz total) – dry hops

Schedule:

  • Mash @ 155 (1.30 qt/lb ratio)
  • Mash out @ 170
  • Batch sparge (water alkalinity adjusted)
  • Ferment at 65

Listening:

  • Brown Bird – Salt for Salt
  • Wilco – The Whole Love, Sky Blue Sky

Notes:

  • 1/27: Brewed on a Sunday, by myself.  Pretty leisurely brew, for the most part everything went well.  Hit mash temp and pH dead on.  Some issues in that it took a long time to get up to boil (20 deg out) and my hop spider collapsed.  I saw that coming and was able to disassemble and clothes-pin the hop bag to the kettle.  Only received minor burns :-(.
    image
  • Using a brand new, 10 gal SS kettle with ball valve for the first time (thanks Santa/Mom&Dad!).  Sparged with more water than usual assuming a more rapid boil-off.  I guessed right.
  • Chilled to 65 F, pitched huge starter of Conan and left to ferment in the bathroom, which is the coldest in the apartment right now.  Should maintain a fermentation temp of 65.
  • 1/28: Krausen fully developed, but airlock activity somewhat slow.  Should really kick off pretty soon.
  • 2/1: Fermentation wrapping up.  Will give it a few days diacetyl rest before crash cooling, racking and adding dry hops.  Thinking I will split the dry hops in half and add them in stages.
  • 2/8: Added round one of dry hops (bagged, weighted)
  • 2/12: Added round two of dry hops (loose)
From → brewday

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

