Skip to content

Citra IPA

May 27, 2013
Image

Conan yeast from the appropriately hyped Heady Topper

Pretty quick post today.  I’ve consciously stayed away from Citra hops over the last year or so (not completely, but somewhat).  I just feel like they’re almost too easy.  They’re so tasty and accessible, it’s hard to make something that tastes bad with them.

After something of a self-imposed-citra-hiatus, I was ready to get back on the bandwagon, at least for a little while.

I opted for a fairly simple recipe.  One that would be quite bitter, slightly bready and very citrusy.  I also chose to use a pitch of Conan yeast (from the Alchemist’s Heady Topper).  I wasn’t crazy about the first beer I made with it, but figured I’d give it another shot.

ImageImage

Here’s the recipe:

Citra IPA
India Pale Ale
Brewed: 5/10/13

Size: 5 gal
Efficiency: 80% (measured)
Attenuation: 72% (estimated)
Original Gravity: 1.060 (measured)
Terminal Gravity: 1.012 (estimated)

Color: 5 SRM
Alcohol: 6.3%
IBU: 66

Water (all in ppm):

Ca: 58  Mg: 10  Na: 9  SO₄: 72  Cl: 32  HCO₃: 65

Ingredients:

  • 6.75 lb Pilsen Malt
  • 4.5 lb Pearl Pale Ale Malt
  • 3.5 oz Crystal 20L
  • 0.6 oz Warrior (16% AA) – boiled 60 minutes
  • 0.6 oz Columbus (15% AA) – boiled 60 minutes
  • 3 oz Citra – ‘whirlpool’
  • 3 oz Citra – dry hop
  • Conan 2L Starter (cultured from fresh Heady Topper) @ 63

Schedule:

  • Mash @ 150
  • Mash out @ 170F
  • Batch sparge – water alkalinity adjusted

Listening:

The Avett Brothers – The Carpenter
Jim James – Regions of Light and Sound of God

Notes:

  • 5/10: Brewed on a Friday evening while K was out of town.  She’s pretty encouraging of my brewing but as I use the kitchen, I like to time my brews for when I won’t be in her way.  At least as much as I can help it.
  • Pretty smooth brew, undershot my starting gravity (had planned for 1.063) slightly, but the spirit of the beer remains.  I didn’t want to risk messing it up by adding DME or  sugar just to hit a number.  pH solid throughout.  Great aromatics from the whirlpool Citra.
  • Chilled to 66, pitched decent sized starter of Conan and left at 63 ambient to ferment.
  • 5/20: Slow ferment.  63 is probably a bit too cold for the Conan.  Warmed to 68, hopefully it’ll finish out before too long
  • 5/26: Finally done fermenting and cleaned up.  Transferred into a CO2-purged keg and added 2 oz of Citra Pellet dry hops.  Will give that a few days before replacing with 1 oz of whole leaf Citra and carbonating.
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

